33rd Annual TRSA Scientific Meeting

February 17th, 2023

Texas A&M University School of Medicine
MREB 2 - Room 1403

Campus Map

Temporary Daily permits ($5) for the lots can be bought through the portal here: https://health.tamu.edu/parking/permits.html

Direct link for creating a guest account, needed to purchase:


Invited Speakers / Featured Presentations include:

"Deconstructing Stigma: Research, Treatment, and Policy"

John F. Kelly, PhD, ABPP
Elizabeth R. Spallin Professor of Psychiatry, Harvard Medical School
Director, MGH Recovery Research Institute
Program Director, MGH Addiction Recovery Management Service (ARMS)
Associate Director, MGH Center for Addiction Medicine

"Panel Discussion - Reducing Stigma"


Sherecce Fields, PhD
Professor, Psychological and Brain Sciences, College of Arts and Sciences
Faculty Affiliate, Institute for Engineering, Education and Innovation, Texas A&M Engineering Experiment Station (TEES)

Rachael Cooper
Senior Director, Stigma

National Stigma Initiative

Orisha Bowers, PhD
former Executive Director of the National Harm Reduction Coalition and currently Founder and CEO, Orixa Healing Arts, Wellness, and Spiritual Center


"Abuse-Related Interactions Between Gabapentinoids and Opioids"
Shawn Flynn, Graduate Student, UT Health Science Center at San Antonio
(2022 TRSA McGovern Fellowship Award recipient)

"The Importance of Advocacy and Outreach for STEM Trainees"

Siara Rouzer, PhD, Postdoctoral Research Associate, Texas A&M University
(2022 O'Neill ASE Award recipient)

"Translating Addiction Research to Addiction Practice"

Jennifer Potter, PhD, MPH, Vice President for Research, Professor of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences, UT Health San Antonio
Executive Director, Be Well Texas

"miRNAs as Biomarkers of Prenatal Exposures and Outcomes in Infancy and Early Childhood"

Amanda H. Mahnke, PhD
Visiting Assistant Professor, ACES Faculty Fellow
Department of Neuroscience and Experimental Therapeutics
Texas A&M University


Registration Rates:

Student - $30 member / $40 non-member
Postdoctoral Fellow - $40 member / $50 non-member
Faculty, Other Professionals, Community Members - $60 member / $70 non-members

Conference Evaluation

Nearby Hotels:
The Stella Hotel - https://www.thestellahotel.com/
LaSalle Hotel (downtown Bryan) -

Conference Management Software by X-CD Technologies Inc.